A Day at the Fair

Well you can skip the ballgame and just take us to the fair, preferably with a wad of cash!  HOLY MAMMA!!

I took Isabella to a local fair this weekend, we had a blast I will give you that.  She loved going on the rides and seeing some of the animals.  She played one game and I played one also to make sure she won something, granted as long as you paid your 5 bucks you got a small prize.  The price of tickets blew me away, 24.00 for 20 tickets and since each ride takes at least 2 tickets they can go pretty fast, I feel sorry for anyone with more that one kid!

ImageIsabella had a blast on the swings and the firetruck that goes around and around and around.  Honestly, watching her made me nauseous!  I used to love amusement park rides, now I just cringe at the thought of going on one.  She went on the swings so many times the guy started to recognize her whenever she got in line.  She did go on the little train, but that wasn’t as exciting as ringing the bell on the fire truck and “driving”  or having her legs dangle going around on the swings.  We wandered around, she picked at a chicken wrap and managed to drop both pieces of corn in the dirt. We saw some of the animals they had and were going to go and peek in the barn Imagebut the smell hit me about 30 feet away and I decided she could live one more year with out seeing a pig up close. We did a bit more wandering and avoiding all the candy and junk that is for sale.  Once we were on the bend to head home I saw the face painting booth,  I had to get Isabella done so for $5 I had a butterfly mask done on her. Yes I know she’s mine so I am a bit one sided BUT did she ever look cute!  All in all we had a fabulous day and if it weren’t so humid, crowded and EXPENSIVE!!  I probably would have stayed a bit longer.

On the way home from the county I usually always stop at a road side stands to get some veggies.  This time around I bought eggs, tomatoes, onions, garlic and the guy gave me a bag of not so fresh peppers. No biggie since I roasted them on the bbq and put them in baggies to freeze.  Good as new once you defrost them and make them in to a salad or whatever else you want roast red and yellow peppers for.

The last time I went for a drive in the county, I bought an eggplant, squash and a basket of tomatoes, onions, garlic, peppers (hot and sweet) and pears.  This was on county road 50 called The Fruit Wagon.

I ended up using the squash for a soup… mmmmmm it was good and very easy to make.  The best part is that it uses up some old veggies that you may have in the fridge.

Roasted Veg Soup.

1 squash (acorn/butternut/or one that looks like acorn but is bigger) cut into 4s

3 leeks or 1 large onion cut in half

5 or 6 cloves of garlic

4 carrots

3 stalks of celery

1 apple

1 pear

1 sweet potato – peeled and cut up

2 white potato – peeled and cut up

cut to medium size and put on baking sheet with olive oil/salt/pepper/cumin/curry powder to roast until soft.

Once done put all the vegetables into a large pot with vegetable stock.  Put in 2 bay leaves, add more salt if needed, more curry and cumin plus a dash of cinnamon.

Simmer for about an hour and once done puree it all together.

You can freeze this part because there isn’t any cream in it,

To serve it I put a dollop of sour cream or goat cheese, plus a few homemade croutons.  It is so yummy!  Isabella will actually eat this and I’m glad since she has become a picky eater.  Chicken and french fries… and ketchup.  Or soup BUT only chicken soup Nonna makes.

If you decide to make this recipe drop me a line and let me know how it was and any tweaks you may have made to it!  I would love to hear.

About Melissa

This is my "start over" blog. I had moved to the Netherlands for 2.5 years and found that it wasn't for me. I guess I'm too much of a Canadian at heart. So now I'm here in Canada with my toddler daughter who was actually born in NL. My dog is with my dad enjoying the good life and I am here trying to start over and get my life back.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

