I Have Returned! (for now)

I miss this world, the blogging world.  A place to put it out there and write, share and read.  I have been neglecting this blog over the last year.  It has been a fairly busy year for me though.  I started teaching at the local College, my baby girl who is really not a baby anymore started going to Montessori three times a week, I have finished one programme for my own studies with College and am starting University courses online come January.  I bought a car, went on a mini vacation up north, traveled to Toronto to see some friends, and basically tried to spend time with Isabella as much as I can.

I am not going to blog about my job, I will say that I love it.  There have been some trying times, but that comes with the territory I guess.  The amount of prep and marking I have is a bit overwhelming, but the end result is always a good one.  In the end I really do like it, but won’t get into details about things in case students have found this blog.

Isabella has been growing in leaps and bounds, just looking at her pictures here on this blog to what she looks like now brings tears to my eyes.  My little baby has grown into a very independent, vocal, happy, toddler.  When I mean vocal, I mean she is using things I say to her and saying them back to me in the correct context.  Here is a good example, when she starts to get a bit hyper I would usually tell her to calm down or relax.  One day I had asked her to do something for me and I had to ask her more than once,  that is when she turned, huffed, sighed and said in a snotty two year old voice. “Relax MOM!” After trying not to burst out in laughter I finally gave in and died.  It was just hilarious to say the least, and more than once since then she has thrown something back at me that I say to her.  My mother’s favourite line is “For Pete’s sake”  now Isabella does the same when she get exasperated with something.  I love these years.

This summer was a hot one, very little rain and lots and lots of hot, humid, sunny days.  Thankfully our neighbours have a pool and we have full access to it.  My little fish has gone from a jump off the ladder to full on swan dive (belly flop) off the diving board.  She has her little puddle jumpers on and I am at the bottom of the diving board waiting for her, but she still has no fear and just goes for it.  She always has this great big smile on her face when she launches herself in the air.  She also can swim/paddle herself from one end of the pool to the other.  Who knows?  2028 Olympics??? Either way she had a blast this summer in the pool and her bathing suit is literally falling apart right now.  She also has a killer tan!  Yes I do use sunscreen, in fact I slather her so much she’s like a greased little pig.  For those that know me, I don’t use a lot of commercial products on her and I like to stick to the organic and natural products.  I used to use California Baby sunscreen until I found out they are using titanium dioxide a possible carcinogenic.  So now I use either Badger or Green Beaver both of which use zinc that sits on the skin.  They also are a very greasy formula so it stays on her a lot longer when she is in the water.  Yes I am that anal about things.

As mentioned, we did get up north this year.  It was an interesting 8 hour drive with her but she did well.  The portable dvd player was well worth the money.  We left around 7:30 and managed to get there around 3:30 with a few stops in between. I really wish the rest stops on the 401 had Tim Horton drive thru.  Nothing like her sleeping in the back and me jonesing for a cup!  Once we arrived it was  different story, she was so excited to get out of the car that she had a fit when we went inside.  It was raining out, but she honestly didn’t care, she needed to stretch her legs.  Soon she settled and we started our vacation.  Isabella had her first ATV ride, and I had my first one in about 6 years.  She wasn’t impressed, I however was geeked to get back on the bike.  I think the bike was too loud for her even with the earplugs in.  She had a look of …”hmmm no so sure about this….”  on her face the three times she got on the back.
She asked to go on once, and after about 10 minutes had enough. I think the bouncing around doesn’t help, she was seated securely and dad wasn’t going fast, but this is all new to her.  I on the other hand couldn’t wait to leave and go out on a ride.  I finally got my turn and Dad and I with two other people went down the old haunt.  We did hit a trail or two that  havent’ been down before.  If you click on the map it will make it bigger so you can see, the blue is the main road and the red is an “idea” of where we went.  We did about 130km in 4 hours with breaks in between, but that still didn’t save my shoulders and butt at the end of the day!

On our ride home I finally stopped at the French River and went over the snowmobile bridge they constructed.  I have been meaning to stop there every time I drop by it but never did.  This time I put Isabella in her Boba,  strapped her on and we walked to the bridge.  A great idea if I wasn’t fighting my asthma and a lung infection. It was a nice walk up and I did manage a nice picture or two of the French River.  I would love to go back when I can actually breathe and do the trails along the French.  Even just a short one.

I still have a lot of work to do to prepare for the new semester. I am lucky enough to teach all the same course that I taught before so I don’t have to do much research but I do have to get the lessons together and figure out the schedule/syllabus for each class since we have two holidays to contend with.  I’ll get to that as soon as monkey goes for her nap.

I hope that I can keep this up again, I really do miss it.  I have a few things I want to blog about that I use for Isabella and some great ideas and recipes.  Yes I do the Pinterest thing, but I am not that faithful to it.

I hope I can get back some of my old readers.  I’ll finish this blog off with two pictures of my monkey.  One of her nearly a year ago and one today.  The first one is her first day of school and the second is me training her on Starbucks!

About Melissa

This is my "start over" blog. I had moved to the Netherlands for 2.5 years and found that it wasn't for me. I guess I'm too much of a Canadian at heart. So now I'm here in Canada with my toddler daughter who was actually born in NL. My dog is with my dad enjoying the good life and I am here trying to start over and get my life back.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Isabella, Jobs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

