Soapy Nuts

Well I washed all of Isabella’s diapers today using the soap nuts.  What can I say besides OH EEM GEE!  Seriously!

The inserts to the diapers were starting to get a stink to them and I was having a hard time getting the smell out.  I tried stripping them with bleach once a month, sometimes twice.  I would sun bleach them, but it really wasn’t doing much.   One wash and yes I mean ONE full wash with the soap nuts and the smell is gone!!  GONE I TELL YOU!!!  GONE!!!!

*takes deep breath*  Ok now that I’m a bit calmer, you have to understand that as much as I love cloth diapers it can be frustrating.  And now that I found these soap nuts, I’m so excited that I can get the diapers to smell fresh again.

I also find that there isn’t a soapy residue on clothes or on the diapers, and they do come out soft considering I don’t use fabric softener on anything.  I would have to say at this point these nuts are great for sensitive skin.  Remember, I am not a doctor (stop laughing people) so you can’t hold me for what I say, but Isabella has very sensitive skin and she wore the diapers all day today plus clothing that I had washed in the nuts and not a reaction what so ever!  I think for people who want clean clothes that smell fresh with out all the chemicals, this is the way to go.

I will definitely buy more nuts once I use all these!!  I have a new love.

About Melissa

This is my "start over" blog. I had moved to the Netherlands for 2.5 years and found that it wasn't for me. I guess I'm too much of a Canadian at heart. So now I'm here in Canada with my toddler daughter who was actually born in NL. My dog is with my dad enjoying the good life and I am here trying to start over and get my life back.
This entry was posted in Diapers, shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soapy Nuts

  1. Tara says:

    Good to know. I’ll like be ordering some in the morning! Chemicals and rashes – good riddance!

  2. Melissa says:

    Tara – you can always order a sample of it and try 4 or 5 loads to see if you like it. The samples are a couple of dollars plus shipping. I personally LOVE these things. I wish I had known about them sooner.

Leave a Reply

