Can I get a do over?

I try to be the best mom as I can to Isabella.  I try to make sure that she drinks good organic milk.  Eats organic foods as often as possible.  I diaper her bum in cloth.  I breastfed. I babywear as often as I can.  I co-sleep. I made her baby food.  I try to give her a fairly peaceful environment, granted that’s hard since I should change her name to “Isabella NO!”  My kid is just one of those that has to see, do and touch everything in sight.

But what would I do over?  Would I do anything differently than I have?  Would I take people’s advice like I did or just smile and nod and do what I wanted to do in the first place? 

Answer:  Yes to all. 

If I had another baby (no no that’s not going to happen).  I would do things that I should have done with Isabella.   I would  cloth diapered its little bottom sooner, right from birth.  I would breastfeed longer then I did with Isabella.  I stopped with her because she would bite then RIP her head to one side… while laughing.  I would babywear more than I did.  I had a sling right from the get go but never felt safe using it until she was older.  I wish that I had purchased the Sleepy Wrap a lot sooner than I did.  It was much more comfortable than the sling and I felt so much more secure with her in it.  I would hold it more, I held Isabella quite a bit.  But I felt guilty because people would tell me that she will be spoiled if I held her too much.     I would do  sign language at a young age.   Do I have my regrets?  Yes.   I am not mad to the point of utter guilt.  I just wish I had done somethings a little differently.   Also I’m in no way trying to make myself out to be mother of the year because of what I have done with Isabella OR am I trying to look for sympathy. Or am I trying to make other’s feel bad for what they have or haven’t done.  It was just a thought that crossed my mind and I decided to write it down.

There are somethings that I’m happy I did with her and I wouldn’t change. I love having her in my bed at night, even with the smacks, feet in the face,  little hands trying to pinch my lip nights.  I love that I did get to babywear and I still do.  My daughter is a healthy, happy, inquisitive, active little bug and I know that what I do from this point on matters just as much as what I did or didn’t do in the past.  Nor is this a slam to anyone who has given me advice, whether or not I followed it. 

But this was nothing more than a thought that crossed my mind and ended up on my blog…

I’m sure I’ll offend someone!!!  LOL!

About Melissa

This is my "start over" blog. I had moved to the Netherlands for 2.5 years and found that it wasn't for me. I guess I'm too much of a Canadian at heart. So now I'm here in Canada with my toddler daughter who was actually born in NL. My dog is with my dad enjoying the good life and I am here trying to start over and get my life back.
This entry was posted in Diapers, Family, Isabella and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

