Shopping in my city

Since returning back to Windsor, I’ve found a few stores that I love browsing in.   I usually stop in once a week or every two weeks to see if they have anything new and exciting in.  At times, yes I do spend some money in there.  I can’t help myself  I see it and it calls my name.  Or I know it will look adorable in Isabella.

Ten Thousand Villages – I knew we had this store in the city but never really made it there until recently.  I’ve been depriving myself of some wonderful unique things and great coffee!  My mom and I went the first time and we bought a CD of Lullabies from around the world.  I keep it in the car for Isabella when she starts to fuss.  It just takes a few minutes of the first song and she’s usually quiet again.  We also bought some Free Trade coffee,  it was REALLY good.  And to be honest not that expensive.  I went back again to get another CD called Music of India.  It’s so cute to see Isabella grooving to the beat when I put it on. 

I’m not going to write out the history of the store.  Instead you can click HERE and read about it.  Check to see if there is one in your city and stop by. 

ShopEco – I found this store when I was looking for Piggy Paint nail polish for Isabella.    My whole goal of going to ShopEco was just for the polish, than when I walked into the store and saw all the other things they had for sale I became hooked.  They have a cute little kid section and at the time they had swimming bottoms for sale.  Think of those little swimmer disposable ones, well these are cloth and reusable so I bought two of them since I do plan on taking Isabella swimming soon.  At another visit, I bought Isabella a cute dress made of recycled material.  It reminds me of the 70’s with the colours and patterns.    I really enjoy shopping in  this store and the staff is friendly and helpful.   They have a wide range of product from clothing to cleaning supplies.  I’m due for another visit!

Sweetheart Diapers –  As you know I love cloth diapers and Sweetheart Diapers has a great variety of them.  I don’t need anymore diapers as I have plenty and Isabella will start potty training soon.  But they do have the reusable cloth training pants so I’ll end up stocking up on those once she gets closer to that time.  I’ve bought a few things from Sweetheart, leg warmers (another obsession of mine), barrettes, toys, and most recently a cloth “high chair”.  It’s called “My Little Seat”  and it turns any chair (except the high back ones) in to a seat for your kid.  I’ve been to some restaurants where the high chairs have just been disgusting, so instead I’ll use this and put a blanket down so I can cover most of the adult chair.   Sweetheart has a variety of things in the store, it is not limited to just diapers.  She also has some locally made things, which I really like.  Support your local business!  

On April 23rd, I’ll be attending the Great Cloth Diaper Change at Sweetheart.  It is something different and I’m looking forward to it. 

So there you have it, until I have more time to tour around the city and see what other great stores there are besides the ones in the mall.  I’ll have these three to keep me busy.  If you are in the area stop by and see what they offer! 

Now to find something to do to keep Isabella busy today.  The weather is just yucky and rainy so I think it might be a good day to paint.  That way when we are done I can just throw her outside to wash off!!  I KID I KID!!!

About Melissa

This is my "start over" blog. I had moved to the Netherlands for 2.5 years and found that it wasn't for me. I guess I'm too much of a Canadian at heart. So now I'm here in Canada with my toddler daughter who was actually born in NL. My dog is with my dad enjoying the good life and I am here trying to start over and get my life back.
This entry was posted in Diapers, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shopping in my city

  1. Anita Kaiser says:

    thanks for the kind words Melissa – we’ve gotten lots of new things in since you were last here – we’ll see you soon!

  2. What a great post Melissa. I’m a fan of Shop Eco and Ten Thousand Villages too. Thanks so much for the great review!
    ~Margaret

  3. Morena says:

    I love Ten Thousand Villages! I haven’t been in there in ages but I used to shop there all the time. Like you said, great stuff and very unique. And cheap! Great idea for xmas gifts when you’re on a budget.

  4. Melissa says:

    @Anita – No problem!! I love your store! I’ll be in again shortly, just waiting for the car to be free. LOL

  5. Melissa says:

    @Morena – It’s so peaceful in there too! I want to go back and get a few more things. Start Christmas shopping early this year.

Leave a Reply

