Baby’s bum

I started to use cloth diapers when Isabella was about 5 months old, and to be honest I’ll never go back to disposable.  I wanted to do cloth from the first day but was talked out of it.  Than after doing some research on them and getting helpful advice from an old high school friend who also does/did cloth, I ordered my first 12 from Squishy Tushy and had Frank’s parents bring them over when they came to visit.  It was love at first sight.  I bought the BumGenius 3.0’s (they are now 4.0’s) and the adorable colours they came it, it was almost a shame to cover them up with clothing.  I then quickly realized I needed more than just 12 since I would end up doing laundry every day and that defeated the purpose for trying to save money and the environment.  So we ordered more from Cotton Babies and my dad and Leigh Ann brought those over when they came to visit.  Now in total I had 24 colourful diapers and Isabella’s bum had never been happier. 

I found that her skin wasn’t wrinkled and damp all the time and we never had a diaper rash until the day I gave her food that was too acidic for her.  Even now tomatoes leave a bit of red bum.  Yes they were bulkier then the disposable which meant clothing was sometimes a bit hard to fit.  So I would have to go up a size in pants and pajamas and then fold over the extra length.  In the warmer weather I didn’t bother putting pants on her and if it cooled off at night or during the day then I would put on her leg warmers and she was a happy little clam.  This picture of Isabella is an old one, she’s about 6/7 months here wearing her “Ribbit” coloured diaper. 

Another thing I started to do (and need to continue) is make the wipe solution instead of buying the disposable wipes.  It was so easy and I had everything in the house to do it.  I had to invest in one or two spray bottles since the Blokker ones I purchased were crap and lasted a week if that.  I found a bunch of different recipes on-line, but eventually tweaked one to what I liked for Isabella that didn’t irritate her skin and left her clean.

Mix

1 cup water

2 Tbsp liquid baby soap

2 Tbsp baby oil

2 drops lavender oil

2 drops Tea Tree oil

shake together and pour into spray/squirt bottles and keep clean rags or baby wash clothes near by for the wipe down.  I would just throw the wipes and the diapers in to the pail and wash everything at once. 

The wash schedule worked out to be once every 3 days unless we had a few unplanned accidents.  In the summer it’s great because I can hang the diapers outside and they would dry in no time flat.  In the winter you just pop them into the dryer and let it go. 

I can honestly say I’m in love with cloth.  I love the look of them. I love how they keep her dry (don’t get me wrong we have had leaks).  I love how she looks so cute in them waddling around with her big bum.   *sigh* Potty training is going to be hard for me,  I’m going to have to suck it up and stop using the diapers.

If anyone has any questions about cloth diapers you can always email me at in2treble@gmail.com  and I can help you or direct you. 

Now time to fold a few diapers .. this is my quiet time.

About Melissa

This is my "start over" blog. I had moved to the Netherlands for 2.5 years and found that it wasn't for me. I guess I'm too much of a Canadian at heart. So now I'm here in Canada with my toddler daughter who was actually born in NL. My dog is with my dad enjoying the good life and I am here trying to start over and get my life back.
This entry was posted in Diapers, Isabella and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby’s bum

  1. If I ever manage to get pregnant I am going to pick your brain about cloth diapers… and if you convince me, you will be in charge of shipping them to me 😛 Just so ya know! haha

    • Melissa says:

      I’ll be more then happy to help. I love her diapers! She looks so cute in the summer when I just put a shirt on her and let her go with the diaper on her bum.

  2. Pingback: Shopping in my city | My life in a diaper bag

  3. Pingback: Can I get a do over? | My life in a diaper bag

Leave a Reply

